273 Flanders Road • Bethlehem, CT 06751 | Directions
Open Daily 6:15–7:45:00 am, 9:30 am—4:45 pm, 5:45—8:00 pm
The Chapel offers a warmth and intimacy that can draw visitors into prayer. It was designed in 1947 by our Co-Foundress, Mother Mary Aline Trilles de Warren, OSB, who wanted it to be a place where all would feel welcome. The design of the Chapel blends elements of traditional European monasticism - such as the arched doors, dark wood and stained glass windows - with typical New England architectural structures, as in the portico that frames the Chapel entrance. This blend of monastic and local culture seems to create a sense of consoling continuity for visitors and guests. For us it is the hearth of the Abbey.
The chapel is open most of the day for private prayer and reflection.THE STATIONS OF THE CROSS
Most unusual are the Stations of the Cross on the chapel walls, carved by Abbey artist Reverend Mother Placid Dempsey, O.S.B. from the wood of a neighbor’s cherry tree.
HOURS OF MASS AND THE DIVINE OFFICE
SUNDAYS AND SOLEMNITIES
|Copyright © 2013 Abbey of Regina Laudis. All rights reserved.|